Staking Out Stout Cake

pedlar cafe frontA new cafe opened in my old neighborhood, the Lower East Side, that I heard had quality joe from Stumptown and braggadocious baked goods–so I went for a look and see.

Cafe Pedlar sits on Clinton Street adjacent to one of my old neighborhood favorite eateries, Frankies 17. The original Cafe Pedlar is in Brooklyn, this is its lil’ sis in LES.

Good coffee is a must if I was going to coax dear hubbie downtown. We made a date of it: lunched at Frankie’s 17 where we know the menu by heart followed by coffee and sweets at Cafe Pedlar. I love the feel of a place that is so brand new that it’s not crowded and still figuring things out and the staff has plenty of time to chat. I read rave reviews about their olive oil cake, but was disappointed to find out that they were sold out. But the friendly barrista recommended the Stout Cake–and convinced me that it was a little more special than the almond cherry danish I was oggling.

pedlar cafeI’ve had many a good cake in my life, thus far, but this one “takes the cake.” It had a decadent aroma of spices–cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, and ginger–moistness from the stout with a pleasing bitterness that was smoothed over by the butter and molasses. The body of the cake had real bounce to it; each time my fork cut into the cake it sprung back.

I was obsessed for the next 24 hours and had to make a stout cake for myself. I suspect the stout cake was a ginger bread stout cake which I am still on the hunt for a good recipe. But instant gratification is my middle name, so I got out my standby chocolate cake mix and nabbed a bottle of Vanilla Creme Brulee Stout at the nearby WholeFoods on Bowery and got busy.

Here’s my quick-fix Chocolate Stout Cake Recipe–enjoy. I promise to experiment some more to devise a from-scratch version that comes closer to my Kubla Khan.

chocolate stout cake

Vanilla Creme Brulee Chocolate Stout Cake

Ingredients

1/2 C. organic sea salt butter, softened

2 large organic eggs

1 1/4 C. Vanilla Creme Brulee Stout

1 Box of Chocolate Cake Mix

Special Equipment: 5 aluminum small loaf tins (2 1/2″ by 5″)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter the loaf tins with butter.

2. In a large mixing bowl beat 2 eggs and all the butter for about 1 minute.

3. Combine the cake mix and the stout with the egg and butter mixture in alternating batches. Using a spatula, gently fold the ingredients. Do not over mix.

4. Pour batter into the cake tins and put into the oven. Bake for 30-35

minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

5. Let cakes cool in the pans on a metal rack for 10-15 minutes before devouring.

Bon Appetit!

4 thoughts on “Staking Out Stout Cake

  1. tartetitou

    Hi BeBe,

    Thanks for checking out my blog! The photo was taken with my iPhone which is surprising since half of my pix are blurry. Keep on reading!

    • tartetitou

      Oh my gosh! Thanks for reading! It really means a lot to get positive feedback, especially when it’s not just coming from my Mom.

Leave a Reply

