Chocolate on the Brain

If you are as mad about chocolate as I am…

Some of my favorite chocolate makers are:

Callebaut: an industry standard brand. I remember spending my days as a pastry assistant, chipping into these 10 lbs. blocks of Callebauts, like I was freaking Michelangelo!

Chocolate Ibarra: Mexican chocolate company makes a great drinking chocolate. If you like your hot chocolate sweet with cinnamon, this is the drink for you.

Jacques Torres: I heart Chef Torres! Not only is he at the top of his game but he’s also the best bargain in town. I get his chocolate by the pound–seriously–by-the-pound! He makes a “wicked” hot drinking chocolate that will put fire in your pants!

Mast Brothers Chocolate: made by these Brooklynites who make the most elegant, smooth finishing chocolate bar in the Tri-State area! My favorite is the Dark Chocolate Madagascan (72% Cacao) with Cocao Nibs. Also, I’ve never been big on milk chocolate because most of the time milk chocolate simply meant more sugar and less Cacao. But their milk chocolate bar has made a convert out of me. Just last week I discovered that Pedlar Cafe on Clinton also sells Mast Brothers Chocolates. I treated myself to an Almond Sea Salt Bar. Hooray!

Plus, the chocolate bars are nestled in their signature wrapping paper that’s just too precious to not recycle into an art project.

Marie Belle: love their aztec blend of drinking chocolate, plus the pretty blue, brown, and gold tins are certainly eye-candy and perfect host/hostess gifts.

Scharffen Berger: a great standby for all your fancy culinary and baking needs.

Theo Chocolate: see my post “Chocolate’s in the Air.”

Leave a Reply

